Christmas in July

cover-695x411.png

I think we can all agree that Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year. It never gets old and every year it feels just as special. I believe it has to do with the happy memories from our childhoods – back when we all believed in magic. It’s so much better when you have children too!

I think that traditions are super important. Most of my traditions from when I was a kid are your pretty normal traditions.

We always had a baking day. This usually was Christmas Eve and we would bake all kinds of goodies. My mom makes some yummy sugar cookies that we look forward to every year.

We always were able to open Christmas Eve gifts. These of course weren’t the ‘best’ out of the presents. Usually like a pair of pajamas or a movie or something small – but it was still exciting every single year to open something early!

When I lived in Kansas, we use to go to a place called Fantasy Village every year. This place just holds a special place in my heart. I still think of it as a magical place. Unfortunately, it’s no longer open.  I did find a home video of it on youtube! It was nothing like out of the ordinary but for some reason it just means so much to me!

Now every year we make time to go to SDC to see the Christmas lights, the parade, and Santa. As kids, we always decorated a sugar cookie. Now I let my daughter do the same thing. Except, yuck the sugar cookies aren’t as good as I remember!

Every year, we always watch A Christmas Story. Several times in one day. 😉

We had this Christmas music box that my brother and I would get out every year when we would decorate the tree. It was something that made it feel like Christmas to us. My mom still has it and now when we turn it on, we shake our heads.. lol

I watched Rudolph, Frosty, and The Little Drummer Boy every single year.

Every Christmas Eve, we play games as a family. It’s always fun!

When we were older, my brother would either start off Christmas or end Christmas with the family by playing some songs on the piano.

Some traditions I do with my daughter:

We build a gingerbread house every year. Those things are a pain in the butt.

I buy her a pair of Christmas pajamas and a Christmas book each year to let her open on Christmas Eve.

We watch all the 25 Days of Christmas movies of course.

She always writes a letter to Santa and goes to see Santa.

We always leave cookies and milk for Santa.

Elf on the shelf – ugh.. I wish I wouldn’t have started this.. haha.

We drive through Christmas lights in our pj’s.

There are several other Christmas traditions I’d like to start this year now that we are back in our own house!

What is your favorite Christmas tradition?!

Leave a Reply

